TEMPUS is recognized as a new paradigm for control system migrations

CIMA+ is proud to announce that its unique online migration system, TEMPUS, was the subject of an article published in Control, a magazine dedicated to promoting excellence in process automation.

Plants typically have to shut down, either completely or partly, to migrate from their old to a new control system. This process is both complex and risky. By using TEMPUS, CIMA+ is able to carry out the whole project from concept to completion, including construction, migration and commissioning, without a loss of production. “TEMPUS is a risk mitigation process that completely and safely eliminates downtime for migrations by revolutionizing how control systems are replaced” says David Findlay, P.Tech. (Eng.), automation lead and partner, at CIMA+.

TEMPUS is a control system migration solution that uses a CSA certified (North America NRTL compliance), temporary hardware installation. It facilitates all the wiring from one control system to another, without disrupting the signals. Once the new control system is operating the plant, the tool is removed, leaving a new and well-organized control system with no legacy equipment remaining.

The article is available on the Control Web site.

For more information on TEMPUS, please refer to CIMA+’s Web site at Cima.ca/tempus

About CIMA+

CIMA+ is a Canadian, multidisciplinary firm that specializes in consulting engineering, project management, urban planning, communications systems, and the environment, allowing for a full range of services in urban infrastructure, transportation, buildings, industry, energy and hydroelectricity, telecommunications and geomatics. Founded in 1990, CIMA+ was created through the merger of several well-established consulting engineering firms that had accumulated over 30 years of experience. Today, with 40 offices across Canada and Africa, CIMA+ employs nearly 1,800 people, over half of whom share ownership in the company. CIMA+ has reached the prestigious Best Employers in Canada’s Platinum Level, which is exclusively reserved for organizations that achieved the best results in the Aon Hewitt survey. For more information on CIMA+, please visit www.cima.ca.

TEMPUS reconnu comme un nouveau paradigme en matière de migration de systèmes de contrôle

CIMA+ est fière d’annoncer que TEMPUS, son système exclusif de migration en ligne, a fait l’objet d’un article publié dans Control, un périodique qui a pour mission la promotion de l’excellence en matière d’automatisation des procédés.

Lors de la migration de leur ancien à leur nouveau système de contrôle, les usines doivent généralement interrompre complètement ou partiellement leurs opérations. Ce processus est à la fois complexe et risqué. Grâce à TEMPUS, CIMA+ peut mener à bien le projet dans son ensemble, de la conception au parachèvement, en passant par la construction, la migration et la mise en service, sans perte de production. «?TEMPUS est un processus d’atténuation du risque qui permet d’éliminer complètement et de façon sécuritaire la nécessité d’interrompre les opérations lors d’une migration de système en révolutionnant la façon de remplacer les systèmes de contrôle?», indique David Findlay, P. Tech. (ing.), Directeur, Automatisation et associé chez CIMA+.

TEMPUS est une solution de migration pour les systèmes de contrôle qui utilise des modules homologués CSA (conformes aux normes NRTL nord-américaines) installés temporairement pour permettre le raccordement des câbles d’un système à l’autre sans aucune interruption de signal. Dès que le nouveau système a pris en charge le contrôle de l’usine, l’équipement temporaire et l’ancien système sont retirés, ne laissant en place que le nouveau système de contrôle bien structuré.
L’article est disponible sur le site Web de Control.

Pour plus d’information sur TEMPUS, visitez le site Web de CIMA+ à Cima.ca/tempus

À propos de CIMA+

CIMA+ est une société canadienne multidisciplinaire œuvrant dans les domaines du génie-conseil, de la gestion de projet, de l’urbanisme, des systèmes de communications et de l’environnement, et offrant une gamme complète de services en infrastructure urbaine, transport, bâtiment, industrie, énergie et hydroélectricité, télécommunications et géomatique. Fondée en 1990, CIMA+ a été créée par la fusion de plusieurs firmes de génie-conseil bien établies, ayant déjà accumulé plus de 30 ans d’expérience. Comptant 40 bureaux au Canada et en Afrique, CIMA+ emploie près de 1?800 personnes, dont plus de la moitié sont propriétaires de l’entreprise. CIMA+ a atteint le prestigieux Niveau Platine des Employeurs de choix au Canada, lequel est exclusivement réservé aux organisations qui ont obtenu les meilleurs résultats au sondage d’Aon Hewitt. Pour en savoir plus sur CIMA+, visitez cima.ca.